Contact Us

If you are a parent, please see contact information for parents here.

Executive Headteacher: Ms C Derbyshire

Headteacher: Ms P Lankester

Saffron Walden County High School
Audley End Road
Saffron Walden
Essex, CB11 4UH

Telephone: 01799 513030

Fax: 01799 513031


Staff Contact List

Area Co-ordinator contact email address below - click onto the relevant name.


Contact - click onto the relevant name to email them.


Mrs Christina Wyman-SmithHead of Art

Classics & Latin

Mrs Claire WheeldonHead of Classics & Latin


Ms Janet SymondsHead of Computer Science


Mrs Hannah BenjaminHead of Drama


Miss Rebecca JermyDirector of English


Miss Sarah MakepeaceHead of Geography

History & Politics

Mr Shaun CollinsHead of History & Politics


Dr Rachel MillsArea Co-ordinator Humanities


Mr Michael SnaithArea Co-ordinator Languages

Learning Support

Mr Phillip HeathSENCO


Mr Jonathan DunningJoint Area Co-ordinator of Maths

Mr William Scheilling, Joint Area Co-ordinator of Maths


Ms Caroline LawDirector of Music


Mr Byron SindellArea Co-ordinator PE

RPE & Citizenship

Mrs Una BrunwinHead of RPE & Citizenship


Dr Margaret Gwyer, Acting Head of Science

Social Sciences

Miss Candice Miller, Area Co-ordinator Social Sciences


Mr Dan Bennett, Area Co-ordinator Technology

Pastoral Matters Years 7-11 

Year Achievement Coordinator and Student Support Officer email details below. 

Area Co-ordinator contact email address below - click onto the relevant name.

Year Year Achievement Coordinator Deputy Achievement Coordinator Student Support Officer
7 Mrs Jane Watts Miss Lauren Coates Miss Ami Hayward
8 Mr Jamie Millership - Mrs Catherine Chasey
9 Miss Charlotte McColl - Mrs Jane Buckley
10 Mr Anthony Wheeler Mrs Alice Thacker Mrs Penny Banks
11 Miss Sasha Gilbert Mrs Bronwen Fox Mrs Barbara Claxton


Sixth Form Collegiate

Director of Sixth Form 

 Mrs Kennedy

Deputy Director of Sixth Form
Year 12

Mr Hansard

Deputy Director of Sixth Form
Year 13

 Mrs Bendall

Assistant Director of Sixth Form

Mr Brown

 Assistant Director of Sixth Form

Miss C Oliver

Assistant Director of Sixth Form

Dr E Wood

Assistant Director of Sixth Form

Dr M Toogood

Study Centre Manager, Employability & Academic Coaching

Ms Bertie

Study Centre Supervisor
and Admin Assistant

Mrs Chancellor

Student Liaison Officer and Sixth Form Child Protection Officer

Mrs Chapman